About Limerick Athletics Board

Limerick County Athletics Board

Board Members 2016

Chairman: Mossie Woulfe,
Vice – Chairman: Joe Chawke, Dooneen A C
Hon. Secretary: Anne Cullinane, St Itas A C
Hon. Treasurer: Larry Collins, St Itas A C
Assistant Treasurer: Yvonne Meredith, St Marys A C
PRO: Verena Tarpey, Dooneen A C
Child Welfare Officer: Carmel Dennehy, Emerald A C

About Limerick County Board

In 2002 the Senior Athletics Board (B.L.E.) and the Juvenile Athletics Board (B. L. O. E.) in accordance with a motion passed at the Special Congress amalgamated to form one body to administer the sport of athletics. The name of the new Board would be the Athletics Association of Ireland Limerick.

The new board would have the responsibility for the promotion of the sport for senior and juvenile athletes male and female in Track and Field, Road Running, Cross Country Running.

The sport is administered by a Board of elected volunteer members who work in tandem with the affiliated clubs within the county.

Athletics Limerick retains a strong volunteer ethos and the hundreds of administrators, officials and coaches who give freely of their time play a vital role in our organization.

The Board
The Board is made up of a Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Secretary, Treasurer, P.R.O., Child Welfare Officer elected annually at the County Convention plus two Representatives from each affiliated club.. The Board meets on the first Wednesday night of each month except for the month of July and August.

We organize and administer championships for Track and Field, Cross Country, Road Running for male and female athletes from the age of 9 to 80.

As well as the competitive side of the sport we also organize a Spring and Summer Series of activities such as fun runs and walks to encourage women and men of all ages  to meet and train in groups rather than individual these events are hosted by the clubs, business and communities.